[Vol. 93, Iss. 6] || The McKendree Review Crew

Avatar image

Vol. 93, Iss. 6

Editors

Kimberly Bennett
Editor-in-Chief

Mindy Allen
Assistant Editor

Emily Lucia
Assistant Editor / Web Manager

Editing Team

Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Donna Bick*
Emily Lucia

In This Issue

Britani Beasley
Kimberly Bennett
Kappa Lambda Iota
Justin Kennon
Emily Lucia
Lyn Huxford Center for Community Service (CPS)
Morgan Roscow
Chelsey Wheeler
Courtney Winkler, M.A.T.

* volunteer

The McKendree Review is a student-run organization of McKendree University. The mission of The McKendree Review is to give students the opportunity to learn the news process and publish articles pertaining to their opinions and ideas.

The staff does not agree with all statements and opinions,
which rightfully belong to their writers.

The McKendree Review Office can be found in
Eisenmayer 208 on the McKendree Campus, at
701 College Rd., Lebanon, IL, 62254.

Staff can be reached by email at mckreview@mckendree.edu.
Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Review Crew | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || Leditors | A Letter from the Editors

Avatar image

Hello everyone,

In this issue, you will be reading about an interview with Dr. Dennis in regards to the recent hate crime on campus. You will also get a chance to read the inside scoop on McK Radio’s B-Dub and Laurie Lou and their show, “Back to the 80s.” Find out more on National Diabetes Month, and read a film review on Annabelle. There is a variety of creativity in this issue including two poems and a comic.  The next deadline is this Monday, Nov. 21, and the articles submitted by that deadline will be printed in the paper edition. (Because we want the bulk of the printed edition to have as many articles as possible, we decided to publish this issue online with fewer articles and then publish the rest of our submissions in the printed edition which will be distributed on Dec. 2, 2014). So please, send your submissions to mckreview@mckendree.edu as soon as possible to make the deadline.

We are in need of new staff members for the Review. Two of us will be leaving and will not be able to work for the Review. That being said, there are two spots open for the spring semester. In order to apply for this paid position, you must have been involved with the Review for at least one semester. Look for an email from Gabriel Shapiro (gjshapiro@mckendree.edu) regarding further information.

Thank you,

The Editors

Remember, you do not have to be an English major or a journalism minor in order to write for the “Review.”  

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Letters from the Editors | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || McKendree University Responds to Hate Crime on Campus

BY CHELSEY WHEELER
Contributing Writer

hate crimeLast month, the community of McKendree University was shocked by the e-mail announcement informing the campus that one of our fellow students had recently been the victim of hate crimes – criminal acts which are motivated by biases against someone’s gender, race, ethnicity, appearance, religion, sexual orientation or perceived membership in other stigmatized social groups. The female student involved was targeted twice in sexually explicit and racially prejudiced incidents that are believed to have been motivated by her involvement in Confront the Roots, a new student organization at McKendree dedicated to encourage open communication about black/white racial issues. Public safety was notified that she was verbally assaulted on campus and shortly thereafter, her car was vandalized. There is also an open investigation by the Lebanon Police Department to determine the responsible party or parties.

Although no permanent damage was done to her vehicle, confidence in the integrity of our community had been shaken. James Dennis, Ph. D., president of McKendree University, shared a message of strength and unity tinged with disappointment when interviewed in regards to the hate crimes.

 “What I want our students to know is that we’re taking this very seriously. This is not something that we’re pretending will disappear or that we’re trying to pretend didn’t happen,” Dr. Dennis stated. “I think when one student is offended, everyone should be offended. It’s not just that one student, it’s all of us. That’s unacceptable on our campus and in our community. I expect more of all of us. We hope that by the time students get to college that they’ve learned how to communicate effectively with one another in a positive way. You hope, but it’s not always the case. So when things like this happen we’re disappointed and concerned and I think that’s definitely the case here.”

The incidents show that even our small and inclusive community of education is not immune to the racial tension affecting the greater St. Louis area. In response to the violence in Ferguson, Mo., McKendree has made it a priority to provide students and local citizens with opportunities to talk about these issues openly by hosting public speakers, Brown Bag presentations and classroom discussions about racism, race relations and social climate.

“There’s racism throughout our society, and we know that, and we know that on a daily basis there are remarks that are made about people who are different than we are,” the president continued. “We can’t stick our heads in the sand and pretend that racism doesn’t exist. We have to find positive ways that we can talk about it, discuss it, and see what we can do about it. We need to deal with this as an institution, and we’re going to.”

Luckily, it is unusual for students to intentionally offend one another with bigoted words or actions at McKendree University. Although the incident itself might have been an anomaly, it exposed a level of ignorance and intolerance inherent in racism that we must recognize and attack as a community.

“I think everyone has a little bit of racism in them. And that’s a shame, but we need to recognize that in ourselves and then know how to deal with it,” Dr. Dennis advised. “It’s really up to every individual to make a commitment to find ways to communicate effectively, try to understand the differences that do exist, and then try to understand why.” While some may argue that the perpetrators of such crimes deserve to be punished, he advocates for education: “We have some students who are just ignorant. They don’t know any better. We may have some students who are racist,” he admitted. “I think it sends a wave through our community that says we have a lot of work to do. If this is happening, then it’s our job as educators to try to ensure that people understand what they’re doing and how they’re hurting people. Talking about it is the first step, to create awareness, and then we can begin to make progress.”

McKendree University values its students as individuals and as members of a diverse community, and these hate crimes do not define who we are as an institution. We want our students to feel like a family by creating an environment that is safe, enriching, stimulating, inclusive and fair. These cowardly acts of racism and prejudice were reprehensible, but instead of generating strife, they have motivated students from different backgrounds to empathize with each other, and, more importantly for many, to reexamine their own thoughts and actions and recognize their inadvertent yet regular contributions to the continuation of racism, sexism and stereotypes.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Articles, Campus, Features, Local/Campus News, News | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || Back to the 80s

BY BRITANI BEASLEY
Staff Writer”

Interviewee: Brent and Lauren Reeves
(B-Dub and Laurie Lou)

80s show 3

Father/daughter duo, B-Dub and Laurie Lou, known regularly as Brent and Lauren Reeves, have started their own piece of history at McKendree University. Not only are they the only father daughter duo on the McKendree radio station, but they are the only father and daughter 80’s internet radio show in the country! Their journey is only beginning, and we are here to give you the 411 on this groovy pair!


 Why an 80’s show? 

“I obviously lived through the 80’s and spent half of the 80’s in Europe (specifically the UK) and this was the time of the ‘Second British Music Invasion.’  The first was when the Beatles and other UK performers’ music came to the U.S.  So, I was ‘lucky’ to be able to experience first-hand a lot of great performers like Phil Collins, Duran Duran, Simple Minds, Tears For Fears, Lisa Stansfield, U2 (Bono), Sting, Soul 2 Soul, SADE, etc.  Plus, the 80’s music set the tone for many current artists music through sampling!  The 80’s is one of the most prolific music decades ever! Somehow, my love for the 80’s got transmitted to my daughter.”

What are your goals with this radio show?

80s show 2
Several……

1)  Share our love of a music genre to the current generation – people who lived through the 80’s already know about it and love it.

2)  My daughter is a communication and journalism major and needs the experience on her resume to get into the “business”.  She eventually wants to have her own radio/TV talk show like Oprah or Wendy Williams.

3)  After my life at McKendree, I would like to become a Sex and Relationship Therapist and have my own radio/TV talk show.  So, I need the experience as well!”

Have you always had an interest in radio and broadcasting?

“No…not until I knew my daughter was leaning that way and I thought that it would be neat to share a love (The 80’s music) with someone I love (my daughter) and we could do something unique to McKendree and possibly the entire country being a father/daughter radio duo!”

80s showHow do you feel about being the first father daughter duo on the McK Radio?

“I love being a trailblazer and doing interesting and unique things.  I have done this my entire life.  While it may be a challenge and sometimes a bit scary, I think this is one way to enjoy life and help others as well by being a leader/role model.”

How do you feel about having a daughter going to McKendree?

“Secretly, it has been a desire of mine since she was born!  Being a divorced father of two, I have practically raised her and her brother “on-campus” being that since they were born, I spend many nights and weekends working on campus; they have been by my side for most of it.  She was originally planning to go to another school in Chicago (I didn’t want to force her to go somewhere she didn’t want to be).  Being a former admissions director, I have seen firsthand how disastrous it could be by making a kid go to your alma mater or some other school that they didn’t want to attend.  When things turned around and it looked like McKendree was her best option for a college education, I was thrilled to know that she would be close to me a little longer.”

What goes into preparing for a set?

“I am the musical consultant and historian, to give myself a title, on the team.  So, I just have to select and download the songs that we play.  I have a pretty extensive and diverse music library that I collected over the years from the 80’s.  Lauren usually loves all the songs that I like.  Then, she handles all of the technical stuff during the show, such as running the mixing board, powering up the broadcast computers and mics and doing some background research on our transitions from songs to announcements and vice versa.  Once we get the show going, we basically have FUN, FUN, FUN, as a father and daughter can, while playing great music.  Shhhhhhh!!!!  We usually BLAST the in studio speakers while doing the show!”

Favorite 80’s musician/band? Song?

“For me it would definitely be Prince!  Followed closely by Michael J. Jackson!

Prince- 1999; Raspberry Beret; Kiss; Let’s Go Crazy!

Michael Jackson- Thriller; P.Y.T.; Smooth Criminal; Working Day and Night


 

The duo hopes to keep the show going as long as their listenership is still up. At the end of the interview Brent added that he loves working with his daughter, going on to say that she is a beautiful and intelligent kid that he is very proud to be able to work with in such a fun way! To listen to this entertaining pair, tune into their radio show on Friday evenings from 6-7 PM at http://radio.mckendree.edu  from your mobile device or computer.

 

Peace, Love and Soul.

 

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Features, Local/Campus News | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || Spread the Awareness of National Diabetes Month

BY EMILY LUCIA
Assistant Editor

diabetesNovember is National Diabetes Month, and diabetics around the world are raising awareness. On social media, organizations like Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation (JDRF) and American Diabetes Association are creating posts and hosting other events to raise awareness as well as crush the many misconceptions surrounding diabetes.

First of all, there are two main types of diabetes: Type 1 and Type 2. Type 1 occurs when the pancreas stops producing insulin; whereas, Type 2 because it produces too much insulin. Another misconception is that you can get diabetes from eating too much candy. This is not the case. There are many causes to each type of diabetes. While Type 2 is largely credited to an unhealthy lifestyle, Type 1 is caused largely by genetic factors.

Being diagnosed with diabetes is a complete lifestyle change. Type 1 diabetics (T1D) have to adjust to insulin, while Type 2 diabetics (T2D) have to consume a pill every day. People with both types, however, still have to change their diet and work around a certain number of carbohydrates, and exercise is encouraged. For a diabetic, diabetes is a chore.

While there is not a cure just yet, organizations like JDRF hold events such as the Tour de Cure to raise money to fund research for a cure.

So what can you do?

JDRF has several campaigns going on right now, all of which help raise awareness and funds for diabetes. One campaign involves members of social media sites to change their profile pictures to the official JDRF “Type One, Type None” photo.

Being knowledgeable about diabetes is another thing you can do; you can find more facts on the JDRF and American Diabetes Association websites.

And finally, donate. Diabetes isn’t one of those topics that can be pushed to the side. While it can be managed, complications can still arise and people can still die from it. By donating to JDRF or The American Diabetes Association, your money will contribute to finding a cure.

In addition, every Friday of November and on World Diabetes Day, which was Nov. 14th, you can join millions of people around the world by wearing light blue in support of Type 1 Diabetics.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Articles, Features | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || Rhonda Tibbs & Her Cloud

BY COURTNEY WINKLER, M.A.T.
Adjunct Instructor

On Veterans Day, local author Rhonda Tibbs spoke at McKendree University about her novel Song of the Snowman. 

As a young girl, Tibbs was fascinated with the clouds in the sky and asked her father for one of her own. He not only gifted her with a “cloud,” but, more importantly, he sparked her imagination. Giving her a mason jar, he told his daughter inside the jar, was her cloud.

Tibbs explained she would occasionally see rain falling from the clouds onto green pastures or dusty fields in need of quenching. Other days, she would see a village full of people beneath this cloud. The possibilities inside this jar were limitless. Thus, the creative mind of a writer was conceived resulting in an author who is working on her sixth novel.  As a devoted fan of her work, I give many thanks to her father for realizing the importance of an imagination. I don’t know about you, but I plan on finding a cloud of my own inside a handpicked mason jar. I will keep it on top of my desk next to my laptop with the hope of discovering my own cloud and all its possibilities.

You can follow Rhonda Tibbs on Twitter at @ritbbs.

Reprinted from http://authorgroupie.com/2014/11/12/rhonda-tibbs-and-her-cloud/
 
Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Articles, Campus, Campus Events | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] ||Kappa Lambda Iota Presents Fun Obituaries from their Fundraiser

PROVIDED BY KAPPA LAMBDA IOTA

 These obituaries are from a fundraiser presented by Kappa Lambda Iota. Students, faculty and staff were invited to donate one dollar and fill out a MadLibs obituary form. The form presented options for cause of death as well as property they left behind. The purpose of this fundraiser was to get people more into the Halloween spirit as well as encourage them to read the McKendree Review. We thank everyone (those who participated and those who donated) for their support for this fundraiser and Kappa Lambda Iota.


1Andrew Tolbert, a freshman at McKendree University, suffocated under a pile of homework on Oct.Oct. 31, 2014. Andrew was from Chicago, Ill. and is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and his 48 other cats.


 BogeyAJ, a freshman at McKendree University, suffocated under a pile of homework on Oct. 31, 2014. AJ was from Arlington Heights, Ill. and is survived by the cat that he feeds outside of the New Halls.

John Watters, a faculty member at McKendree University, was eaten by a goldfish on Oct. 31, 2014. John was from Marshfield, Missouri and is survived by his iPhone 6.


4Brittany Copple, a junior at McKendree University, suffered a heart attack on the way to third floor Carnegie on Oct. 31, 2014. Brittany was from Waltonville, IL. She is survived by the cat that she feeds outside of the New Halls.


5

Josh Fleming, a senior at McKendree University from Cave-In-Rock, Ill., died in this year’s Hunger Games. Josh is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy, his 48 other cats and his complete set of How I Met Your Mother DVDs.


6Joe Vandeventer, a sophomore at McKendree University from Lafayete, Indiana, succumbed to an awful bout of food poisoning after eating at Ames on Halloween. Joe is survived by his significant other, his debt and his Yakarma.


BogeyDutch Nave, a sophomore at McKendree University, died in the fiery pits of Mordor because some stupid hobbitses stole his ring. Dutch perished on Oct.Oct. 31, 2014. He was from Minooka, Ill. and is survived by his remaining Flex Dollars.

Tiffany Somerville, a senior at McKendree University from Salem, Ill., died of old age waiting for the Bogey Bus on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her complete set of How I Met Your Mother DVDs and her remaining Flex Dollars.


9Taylor Rossi, a sophomore at McKendree University was beheaded on Halloween 2014 for exposing the incestuous Lannisters. Taylor was raised in Petersburg, Ill. and is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and her other 48 cats as well as her iPhone 6.


10

Jodi Gawlik, a senior at McKendree University, suffocated under a pile of homework on Halloween Day 2014. Jodi was from Schaumberg, Ill. and is survived by her iPhone 6.


11Rebecca Blake, a senior at McKendree University from Branson, Missouri, suffocated under a pile of homework on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her sorority sisters.


12Nathan Hunt, a senior at McKendree University, died after suffering from food poisoning at Ames Dining Hall on Oct. 31, 2014. Nathan was from Harrisburg, Ill. and is survived by his APO fraternity brothers.


Bogey

Ryan Herring, a senior at McKendree University, died of old age waiting for the Bogey Bus. He is survived by his remaining Flex Dollars.


 BogeyNatalie Britton, a freshman at McKendree University, was smashed by a spaceship and died on Oct. 31, 2014. She is from Newton and is survived by her complete set of How I Met Your Mother DVDs.


BogeyBradan Armes of Troy, Ill., died in the fiery pits of Mordor on Oct. 31, 2014 because some stupid hobbitses stole his ring. Bradan is survived by his extensive collection of empty Ski bottles and his rabid man-eating carrot.


16Lauren Craft, a junior at McKendree University, died in the fiery pits of Mordor on Halloween Day of 2014 because some stupid hobbitses stole her ring. Lauren is from Alhambra, Ill. and is survived by Bogey and her sorority sisters.


BogeyTia Thomas, a student at McKendree University, died in the Hunger Games on Oct. 31, 2014. Tia was from Mascoutah, Ill.Ill. and is survived by her iPhone 6.


BogeyDarren Cross of Lebanon, Ill. was smashed by a spaceship on Halloween 2014. He is survived by his significant other.


BogeyDominick Pickens, a sophomore at McKendree University, suffocated under a pile of homework on Oct. 31, 2014. Dominick is from Springfield, Ill. and is survived by his remaining Flex Dollars.


20Stephen McIntosh, a junior at McKendree University, died in the fiery pits of Mordor on Oct. 31, 2014 because some stupid hobbitses stole his ring. Stephen is from University City and is survived by Bogey.


BogeyMark Peters, a faculty member at McKendree University, died in the Hunger Games on Oct. 31, 2014. He is survived by his complete set of How I Met Your Mother DVDs and his seven chinchillas.


22Constance Scott of Cedar Hill, Missouri, died after contracting food poisoning from Ames Dining Hall on Oct. 31, 2014. Constance was a freshman at McKendree University and is survived by her Yik Yak score.


23Holly Petrie, a junior at McKendree University and a resident of Staunton, Ill., was killed by Lord Voldemort on Halloween Day of 2014. She is survived by her APO fraternity brothers and the cat that she feeds outside of the New Halls.


 24Alan Alewine, McKendree class of 20∞ and a resident of Fabulous-ville, suffered a heart attack on the way to his office on third floor Carnegie on Oct. 31, 2014. He is survived by his rabid man-eating carrot.


BogeyAllison Hoshide, a student at McKendree University, was eaten by a goldfish on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her rabid man-eating carrot and her overdue library books.


BogeyChristin Austin, a student at McKendree University, froze to death in PAC on Halloween Day of 2014. She is survived by her Tri Sigma sorority sisters.


27Kaitlin Pennington, a sophomore at McKendree University and resident of Marion, Ill., died in the Hunger Games on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her complete set of How I Met Your Mother DVDs.


28Stephen Hagan, sociology professor at McKendree University, suffered a heart attack on the way to third floor Carnegie and died on Halloween 2014. He is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and his other 48 cats.


BogeyJulia Hagan, faculty member at McKendree University, was eaten by the Professigator on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her debt.


30Jordan Archibald, a freshman at McKendree University, died of humiliation after failing to wear pink on Wednesday. Jordan was a resident of Quincy, Ill. and is survived by the McKendree Show Choir.


 31Zach Frank, a 6th year student at McKendree University, died in the fiery pits of Mordor on Halloween 2014 because some stupid hobbitses stole his ring. Zach was from Collinsville, Ill.. He is survived by his rabid man-eating carrot.


 32Mariah Logan, a junior at McKendree University and St. Louis resident, was eaten by the Professigator on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her remaining Flex Dollars.


33Nancy Lilley, a junior at McKendree University, suffered a heart attack on third floor Carnegie and died on Oct. 31, 2014. Nancy was a resident of New Baden, Ill.. She is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and her other 48 cats and her Kappa Lambda Iota sisters.


34Magoline Middleton, a senior at McKendree University, was killed by Lord Voldemort on Halloween 2014. She was from Centralia, Ill. and is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and her other 48 cats.


35Kaylee Englund, resident of Mattoon, Ill. and junior at McKendree University, froze to death in PAC on Oct. 31, 2014. She is survived by her sorority sisters.


36Kaitlin Cartwright, McKendree University senior, died of humiliation on Oct. 29, 2014 after failing to wear pink on Wednesday. She is survived by her significant other.


BogeyDr. Nancy Ypma, professor at McKendree University, died of exhaustion on Halloween Day of 2014. She is survived by Wolfie and a huge family.


BogeyBrenda Doll of O’Fallon, Ill., froze to death in PAC on Oct. 31, 2014. Brenda was a professor of education at McKendree University and is survived by her overdue library books.


39Kathryn Herath of East Peoria suffocated under a pile of homework on Halloween Day of 2014. Kathryn was a senior at McKendree University. She is survived by Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and her other 48 cats.


BogeyDr. Jennifer Hope, a faculty member at McKendree University, was eaten by the Professigator on Halloween Day of 2014.Dr. Hope was a resident of St. Louis, Missouri. She is survived by her 7 chinchillas in addition to Mr. Cuddles, Mrs. Fluffy and her other 48 cats.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Campus Organization, Entertainment | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || “Annabelle” Fails to Raise the Bar

A FILM REVIEW

BY MORGAN ROSCOW
Contributing Writer
annabelle

Google Images

The newly released horror flick Annabelle, a spin-off of The Conjuring which is about the demonic porcelain doll, brought in a little over $37 million its first weekend in the box office. The film takes place in 1970 where John (Ward Horton) and Mia (Annabelle Wallis) Gordon, go through a series of mishaps, encountering objects that go missing, unidentified noises and a red-eyed demon.

Annabelle’s first appearance was in the film, The Conjuring at the very beginning when Debbie (Morganna May) and two of her friends explain to Ed (Patrick Wilson) and Lorraine (Vera Farminga) Warren about the problems they have had with Annabelle. The doll somehow gets out of her cage and horrifies Ed and Lorraine’s daughter, Judy (Sterling Jerins).

With Peter Safran and Tony DeRosa-Grund, the correlating producers between The Conjuring and Annabelle, viewers would think the frights and scares would be better and unexpected. However, while The Conjuring’s best scenes were not spoiled in the previews nor used in the last 20 minutes of the film, Annabelle was a different story. While Annabelle had high attendance ratings its first weekend, the film has gotten mixed reviews. The scariest scenes are shown in the previews of the film, except for the scenes with the demon.

With cinematography done by James Kniest, how could it not be amazing? The special effects, such as lighting, helps show how the doll changes from innocent-like to demonic and dirty. The way Kniest makes the demon blend with the darkness of the basement, the white and red colors of the eyes draw the audiences’ attention back to the demon. However, the acting in the movie is average, and the characters’ names seem as though they mirror the cast of Rosemary’s Baby. The film lacks the most important aspect The Conjuring had: director James Wan.

Google Images

Google Images

Interesting Fact:

The scenes in the house were shot in Santa Monica, Calif., and the apartment is located in Pasadena, Calif. In a recent episode of The Ellen DeGeneres Show, Ellen expressed that while watching the film she noticed something familiar, and then it occurred to her that the apartment used in the film was the same apartment that she lived in when she was first starting out in the business.

Google Images

Google Images

The real story behind the Annabelle doll is more intriguing than the film itself; apparently, the movie is said to be loosely based off of a real event with the only correlation being a doll named Annabelle.

The true story is set behind a Raggedy Ann doll that was bought by a mother for her daughter’s 28th birthday in 1970. The doll started to move around the apartment and change positions on Donna’s bed.  They contacted the Warrens, who informed them that a demon was possessing the doll. After going to see Donna and her friends, they took the doll away. It is now blessed twice a month by a priest.

Unfortunately, in my opinion, the real story of Annabelle is by far scarier than the film.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Articles, Entertainment, Movie/Book Reviews | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || Kicking Off Hunger & Homelessness Week

PROVIDED BY LYN HUXFORD CENTER FOR COMMUNITY SERVICE (CPS)

LHCCS_2C

mckendree.edu/cps

 

From Nov. 13-22, CCS will be sponsoring Hunger and Homelessness Week.

Don’t miss out on the events below!!

Nov. 13-19 get a group to participate in the Canned Good Sculpture contest to win a copy of Orange is the New Black (up to 10 copies, announced at Empty Bowls)
Contact  AMreynolds@mckendree.edu for more information.

Monday, Nov. 17 participate in Change for Change around campus from 9-10:30 PM.  Sign up in the CCS Office or e-mail us!

Tuesday, Nov. 18 join us for The Sleep Out in the quad from 6 PM-7 AM, view and discuss The Pursuit of Happyness in the Lair, and do a variety of other activities to learn about homelessness and opportunity.

Wednesday, Nov. 19 at noon, join us in PAC 222 for Empty Bowls Brown Bag, hear a speaker from Hope House, and buy bowls crafted at the Art Clubs Bowl-a-Thon and by other campus members.

Thursday, Nov. 20 at 7 PM in PAC Lobby learn about international hunger at the Oxfam Hunger Banquet with presentations by Project Peanut Butter

Friday, Nov 21, from 11 AM-2 PM sign petitions in PAC as part of Legislative Action Day to improve policies around Hunger and Homelessness, and cap the Week off Saturday, Nov. 22 by attending service at Hope House from 9:30 AM-1:30 PM.  Please RSVP, or sign up in the CCS office.

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Campus, Campus Advertisements, Campus Events | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || Duel of the Seasons

ILLUSTRATED BY KIMBERLY BENNETT
Editor-in-Chief
Comic

Kimberly Bennett

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Comics, Entertainment, Humor | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || “i saw Him

BY JUSTIN KENNON
Contributing Writer

i saw Him
With closed eyes
And tears of shame

i saw Him
Covered in light
With arms stretched out

i saw Him
So how can
He, be a
legend? When
I saw Him.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Creative Writing, Entertainment | Leave a comment

[Iss. 6] || “The Moon”

BY JUSTIN KENNON
Contributing Writer

He doesn’t care if
you
stare
up at him.
He’s just doing the
job he does
each night.

Rising
then falling
Falling over one-
side
To rise up the other

Sure,
It changes his face.
But he’s still the
Same every
night.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 6, Creative Writing, Entertainment | Leave a comment

[Vol. 93, Iss. 5] || The McKendree Review Crew

Avatar image

 

Vol. 93, Iss. 5

Editors

Kimberly Bennett
Editor-in-Chief

Mindy Allen
Assistant Editor

Emily Lucia
Assistant Editor / Web Manager

Editing Team

Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Donna Bick*
Emily Lucia
Jenna Teetor*

In This Issue

Kaleigh Admire
Lauren Apetz
Kimberly Bennett**
Elizabeth Crabtree**
Katie Herath
Mariah Logan**
Jenna Morris
Erica Pour
Morgan Roscow
Jodi Short**

* volunteer
** Those who sent “Campus Oddities” photos to the Review

The McKendree Review is a student-run organization of McKendree University. The mission of The McKendree Review is to give students the opportunity to learn the news process and publish articles pertaining to their opinions and ideas.

The staff does not agree with all statements and opinions,
which rightfully belong to their writers.

The McKendree Review Office can be found in
Eisenmayer 208 on the McKendree Campus, at
701 College Rd., Lebanon, IL, 62254.

Staff can be reached by email at mckreview@mckendree.edu.
Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Review Crew

[Iss. 5] || Leditors | A Letter from the Editors

Avatar image

Hello everyone,

In this issue, you will be reading about Edwin Edgar Voigt from the Archives, the problem with event parking at McKendree University, McKendree haunted stories and more! The next deadline is this Monday, Nov. 3, and the articles submitted by that deadline will be printed in the paper edition. So please, send your submissions to mckreview@mckendree.edu as soon as possible to make the deadline.

We are in need of new staff members for the Review. Two of us will be leaving and will not be able to work for the Review. That being said, there are two spots open for the spring semester. In order to apply for this paid position, you must have been involved with the Review for at least one semester. Look for an email from Gabriel Shapiro (gjshapiro@mckendree.edu) regarding further information.

Thank you,

The Editors

Remember, you do not have to be an English major or a journalism minor in order to write for the “Review.” You can have your degree in any major and minor you wish. 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Letters from the Editors

[Iss. 5] || From the Archives… President Edwin E. Voigt

BY KATIE HERATH
Staff Writer

Everywhere you look, McKendree continues to grow. For example, attendance for undergraduates has reached an all-time high; we also have a new entrance, an athletic building as well as the expansion of campus housing. Edwin E. Voigt Science Hall, which opened in 1965, is one of the most anticipated renovations on campus, and the building was named after the president of McKendree at the time. Edwin Voigt’s connection to the college spans a few years before his presidency; since 2014 marks 50 years since his first year serving, now is the perfect time to honor his historical legacy.

Google Images

Edwin Edgar Voigt || Google Images

Edwin Edgar Voigt served as a pilot in World War I; later in 1924, he was ordained as an elder in the Methodist church. His impact on the denomination was significant because he helped revise the Methodist Hymnal and Book of Worship. He later became the first bishop of the Illinois Great Rivers Conference in 1960 when the central and southern Illinois conferences merged.

Voigt became greatly involved in the partnerships between the conference and its colleges, including McKendree. He established a fundraising campaign for renovating Bothwell Chapel, raising over $700,000. Also during his time as bishop, he helped raise money for a school in Bangladore, India. As an expression of gratitude, the school was named after Voigt.

In 1964, Bishop Voigt accepted the position of McKendree’s president, and campus would expand tremendously during this time. Voigt Science Hall was opened on Sept. 12, 1965, almost 50 years after any previous dedication of a building on campus. Building on campus did not stop there. The Deneen Center and Helen T. Barnett Hall were also built, followed closely by Baker Hall, Walton Hall and Ames Dining Hall. By the end of his short presidency, Holman Library was under construction. Previous president Peter Akers termed Voigt’s presidency as the “McKendree Renaissance” (168).

Edwin Voigt stepped down from his position in 1968 with the announcement of his retirement at the age of 76. He felt he was too old for the position of college president, indicating that “the college needed young, creative, and dynamic leadership” (173). In just four years, enrollment increased almost 50 %. Voigt would be the last president of McKendree University with direct ties to the United Methodist conference.

Information is taken from McKendree College History 1928-1978. The McKendree History Museum is located in Bothwell Chapel and is open Monday, Wednesday, Friday, from 10 AM to 12 PM.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Articles, Blast from the Past, Campus, Features

[Iss. 5] || Events Parking at McKendree: Is This an Issue?

BY MORGAN ROSCOW
Contributing Writer
Google Maps

Google Maps

Parking at McKendree University has grown into a bigger issue in the past few years due to the increasing influx of first year students since 2013. When McKendree holds specific events such as game nights (mainly football), parking becomes an even bigger problem. However, game nights are not the only events at McKendree in which parking is an issue. For example, consider the events held at Hett or even Family Fun Weekend. While some students believe that there is enough parking at McKendree during event days, some believe otherwise.

One student – a senior who we will call Ted Miller because he wished to remain anonymous – said, “There are lots of parking spots available during events actually, but there’s the lower level of The Hett; it’s like first come first serve. If you tend to come at the start of the game, parking can then be a problem.”

My source also said, “A lot of students don’t check their email as often as they should. Public Safety should have more outlets for students to be aware to move their vehicle beside emails.” This student suggests there should be more signs placed around campus and not just beside the parking lots.

Tegan Clinton, senior, mentioned that on the first game of the season, one of her friends had parked in C Lot, and then she started receiving phone calls from Public Safety before her class ended at 2 PM. When discussing other sporting events on campus, Clinton added, “I know, for basketball games, [it is] hard [to park] too; that back lot gets full,” but she also thought the parking lots are more crowded during the school week than during the weekends or on game days.

Students and faculty receive emails regarding which parking lots need to be vacated at least a few days before events take place. Clinton, however, does check her email often, and said “Signs are your last reminder. I don’t know how else they would do it” when it comes to communicating more with students about moving their vehicles.

Ashley Klass, a junior, said there needs to be more signs posted because she does not “check [her] email religiously.”

For events at the Hett, according to the McKendree website, Lots A and B are cleared out for handicap and valet parking but since A and B Lots are for white sticker (faculty and staff) parking, it does not seem to be a big deal in regards to student parking. There seems to be two options when it comes to moving your vehicle for game days: you can either check your email more often to know when to move your vehicle, or you can check the signs that are placed by the parking lot entrances and then move your vehicle in time.

One officer, who wishes to remain anonymous, said, “From past experience dealing with game day parking, most students have already parked their vehicles the night before in other lots or have gone home for the weekend,” which seems to be consistent with what students have said. “D and E Lots,” the officer continued, “are fairly full after C Lot has been vacated…. H Lot is fairly empty on game day.” Some students are worried about being ticketed for not moving their vehicles in time, and to that issue, the officer stated, “Public Safety tries to make every effort to contact students to have them move their vehicle. If the vehicle is not moved in a certain amount of time after Public Safety has made contact with the student, they will ticket them [for] Failure to Comply with Parking Restriction.”

So, the question remains: Is parking really an issue? Or, are students simply bothered by the fact that they have to move their vehicles before home games? Based on several accounts, there does not seem to be many issues with parking on game days or Hett events. In order to avoid receiving a ticket from Public Safety, look at your email, pay attention to the signs posted and pick up your phones if Public Safety calls.

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Articles, Campus Events, Features

[Iss. 5] || To Yak or not to Yak?

BY JENNA MORRIS
Contributing Writer
Jenna Morris

Jenna Morris

College students spend a large part of their days on social media sites such as Twitter, Facebook, Snapchat and Pinterest.  Developers have created Yik Yak, a new social network that is becoming widely popular within college campuses, nationwide.  Yik Yak acts as a local bulletin feed that shows posts based on your location being tracked from your phone.  Because users are anonymous, they can post statuses without fear of judgment or consequences. “Similar to how Facebook uses a “like” button, Yik Yak uses up-votes and down-votes for users to agree or disagree with original posts. Users are able to comment or reply to an original post as well.” Not only can users see what is going on at their schools, but they can also “peek” at other universities’ ‘yaks’ too.

At McKendree, Yik Yak has had its ups and downs.  Even though many people “yak” about their classes or crushes, the application has caused much controversy among students who post “yaks” about wanting to cuddle with someone in room XXX. In some cases, people actually reply to “cuddling” and “sex” posts, and sometimes, they would show up, hoping the original poster would follow through.   Pranks have been played on people. For example, users on Yik Yak may tell other users to come to their rooms, and people show up, but these visitors are not who they said they were.  McKendree, so far, does not have too many problems with Yik Yak when compared to other, larger universities such as the University of Southern Mississippi and Norwich University.

Jenna Morris

Jenna Morris

There have been many reports of threats found on Yik Yak that have turned into campus investigations.  According to an article in the Hattiesburg American, the University of Southern Mississippi has gone through two investigations regarding anonymous threats on Yik Yak; so far, they have made at least one arrest.  Although many of the threatening comments on Yik Yak are ruled as hoaxes, public safety officials still feel the need to investigate these threats in order to make sure students are safe..  Also, as stated in the Huffington Post, Norwich University in Vermont has blocked all student access to Yik Yak because of anonymous threats and cyber bullying..

According to the Huffington Post, Norwich University’s president, Dr. Richard W. Schneider said, “I just know [Yik Yak] is hurting my students right now”.

Senior Lexie Shoemaker (left) and Junior Kendall Butler (right)

Senior Lexie Shoemaker (left) and Junior Kendall Butler (right)

Lexie Shoemaker, a senior at McKendree, believed Yik Yak isn’t a good thing for our campus because it causes conflict among the students: “Every time I look at Yik Yak, there is always somebody causing a fight. Sometimes, people complain about posts, and other times, people give other users negative replies because they can hide behind anonymity and get away with it.”

Kendall Butler, a junior, had somewhat of a different opinion: “I think Yik Yak can be very comical, but it comes at the user’s expense. “Students have to be smart about what they post and not use it as a way to target other students.”

Yik Yak is becoming more and more popular on our campus, and it is only a matter of time before someone abuses it and ruins the fun for everyone.  The question is, will the administration take action and start monitoring what is being said on Yik Yak? Will this new technology become a bigger problem at McKendree like other universities? How would Yik Yak be addressed on campus if it goes out of hand?

If you have an opinion on Yik Yak, feel free to write a comment below or answer the poll question.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Articles, Campus, Features

[Iss. 5] || There May Be a Few Uninvited Visitors Within McKendree’s Walls

BY LAUREN APETZ
Staff Writer

Have you ever heard unexplained noises while you sleep?

Do you feel as though you are being watched?

Taylor Rossi

Taylor Rossi

If you have ever had any of these experiences at McKendree University, you may have witnessed one of the many spirits already residing on campus. In case you didn’t know, McKendree is ranked in the top ten haunted universities of Illinois.

Sophomore Taylor Rossi had a run in with a spirit last year in Residence Hall East. “I was in my dorm, the new dorms I might add, and I swear, I heard a child laughing in my ear.”Rossi’s experience is not the only instance of hearing a child’s voice or feeling one’s presence in the new halls. Some students believe this spirit belongs to a little girl.

Past Residence Director of Residence Halls East, Jen Stueck, shares her experience she had while living in the new halls.

Jen Stueck

Jen Stueck

“I am hesitant to reflect, in such a public manner, about the experiences I have had with our quiet family members of McKendree University. This is due to my ambivalence regarding the societal set-up of how the paranormal are viewed – and those that believe in the paranormal,” said Stueck. “My personal mantra seems to sum it all up: it takes all kinds to make the world go around. The time I have spent on my physical journey has exposed me to experiences that confirm… it does in fact take all kinds, regardless if you are part of the living world or on a different journey.

“During my time at McKendree University, I noticed a great deal of interest concerning the history of our home and the individuals before us. The following is just a piece of my experience. This experience belongs to me, therefore, it contains my perceptions and beliefs.”

Here is Stueck’s piece: The Little Lady

The Little Lady

It was not long after I unpacked my belongings and settled in campus that I noticed I was rarely alone. Living on campus which is where you work, working where you live and earning your MA all in the same place – yes, you are rarely alone. This is different though, I was never ‘alone’ when I was alone. I spent late evenings at my kitchen table reading from my text books and attempting to make sense of the information my peripheral vision was sending to my brain. For the first few weeks I disregarded the odd sensation that someone was watching me read from my texts.

Over the course of a few months I found it helpful to embrace the odd sensation of having quiet company by speaking to who I felt was a younger person, most likely eight years old and female. I made it a habit to greet the company I felt had made a home within my home. Hearing your own voice without a reply yet, at the same time, sensing there is energy that is capable of silently acknowledging you is an interesting position to be in. I began to refer to this energy as the ‘Little Lady’.

The Little Lady and I made rules, similar to constructing a roommate agreement document. I asked that lights would not be turned off – but, could be turned on. She listened. I asked that she support and care for the residents of the building. She listened, but her playful demeanor could be perceived as ‘scary’ by some of our living McKendree family members. She was welcomed into the suites of residents – they set up toys, sheeted an extra bed for her or simply verbally acknowledged her energy.

To this day I continue to sense the Little Lady around our McKendree home. She is happy, playful, looking to be nurtured and enjoys time with the students. I believe that the Little Lady has found her home on the McKendree University campus, similar to how many of us link ourselves to this warm, welcoming community. This is our home – this is our home that we share with our quiet, yet present family members.


I did some research on the people buried at College Hill Cemetery, and found information about an eight-year-old girl named Alice A. Bailey who had died in 1846.

handOne night in my room this year, my roommate, Lauren Krywy, and I felt as though there was another presence in our room besides us. I decided to ask if there was a spirit in the room, and if there was, I wanted them to make their presence known. The next morning, when we woke up, my roommate had a very small child-sized hand print on her window that was not there the previous night. We have a new roommate.

Even though the new halls are not the oldest buildings on campus, they are the closest to the cemetery. Spirits have the ability of moving short distances so travelling across the street and haunting the new halls are not far-fetched ideas.

If you have had any experience with the paranormal, share it. Stories and experiences like these make McKendree University more unique.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Opinion

[Iss. 5] || Campus Oddities

This gallery contains 5 photos.

COMPILED BY THE MCKENDREE REVIEW The following images were sent by fellow faculty, staff members and students of McKendree University. We did not receive many photos; therefore, there were not enough pictures to create a video. Please enjoy what we have in … Continue reading

Gallery

[Iss. 5]|| Help Fight Off STRESS!

BY KALEIGH ADMIRE
Staff Writer
Google Images

Google Images

Stress is something every college student goes through. If you have not been stressed yet this year, consider yourself lucky. As the middle of the semester approaches, papers, exams, presentations, reports and projects will all be assigned and due at lightning speed until the end of the semester.

Here are a few healthy tips for managing your stress levels before you have a mental breakdown from thinking about all the things you have to complete before the semester is over:

  1. TRY NOT TO WORRY about things that are out of your control. Focus on the things you can.
  2. PREPARARATION AND PRACTICE is the way to go if you are worried about a presentation or an interview. The more prepared you feel, the less stressed you will be.
  3. MAKE CHANGE YOUR FRIEND! If a professor moves a due date up, think of it as a challenge and overcome it! (Refer to tip 1)
  4. ASK FOR HELP! If there is something that you cannot do alone, ask a friend, family member or staff member for assistance.
  5. DO NOT OVERCOMMIT YOURSELF! If you spread yourself too thin, then the stress will never end. Stress will add up until you make a change.
  6. BE REALISTIC! Don’t tell yourself that you can do a 10-page research paper in one night, unless you are a genius. In that case, please share your gift with others.
  7. MAKE TIME FOR SLEEP AND EXERCISE! This will allow you to be more productive when you are try to accomplish tasks.
  8. DO SOMETHING YOU ENJOY! All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. Don’t be Jack.
Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Advice, Opinion

[Iss. 5] || Where to Shop for the Fall: McKendree Style

BY ERICA POUR
Contributing Writer

We all love new clothes, but if you’re like me, you’ve already realized that trying to find the latest fashions for fall within the borders of Lebanon is a little tricky. While most girls at McKendree would openly list St. Clair Square for their “go-to” place when it comes to fall fashion, our beloved mall unfortunately offers very few student discounts.

In fact, one of the only female clothing stores within St. Clair Square that offers a student discount is Charlotte Russe, a popular store among young women which gives a broad choice of unique and trendy fashions. When checking out at the register, show your student ID card for a 10% discount off your purchase. However, this does not include items on clearance.

Lillian's

Lillian’s

If you prefer a more professional look, The Limited also offers a discount to students, as well as educators. A discount of 15% is given at the checkout with a valid McKendree ID.

So, ladies, where do we go with our tiny budgets and our big fashion sense? Enter, Lillian’s which is located at 106 Wakanda Drive in Lebanon just next to the fitness center. Lillian’s offers a variety of stylish and tasteful options for a reasonable, student friendly price. When shopping at a boutique like this, you have the advantage of maintaining individuality. Lillian’s only orders approximately six of every item to the store, which makes it easy to be the only one on campus with that trendy new top.

Speaking of trends, fall is the opportune time to showcase your personal style. While we all know that fall means wearing layers, this year it means capes, ponchos, and kimono-style cardigans. According to the owner, Amanda Oelze, plaid is also a huge trend this season, and Lillian’s has these trends arriving this month.

As an alternative to a student discount, Lillian’s offers a punch card. A punch is received for every 20 dollars spent, prior to tax. When the card is full, $30 is taken off the next purchase.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Advice, Articles, Opinion

[Iss. 5] || Sleepy Hollow: A Show You Cannot Miss

A Television Series Review

BY KIMBERLY BENNETT
Editor-in-Chief
Google Images

Google Images

Last fall, Sleepy Hollow made its way to Fox and after three episodes, the show was renewed on Oct. 3, 2013 because the pilot, alone, appealed to a total of 10.1 million viewers. The first season premiere started on Sept. 16, 2013, and its finale ended last Jan. 20, 2014. Although the second season started Monday, Sept. 22, 2014, it is crucial to have a general picture of the first season in case there are people who have not seen the television series at all.

First of all, Sleepy Hollow is based off of Washington Irving’s famous short story, “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” but with a modern twist. In case you aren’t familiar with the short story, Irving’s story takes place in 1790 in Tarry Town (historical Tarrytown, New York) in an isolated valley called “Sleepy Hollow” which is most famous for its haunting atmosphere. The most famous creation in Irving’s story is the Headless Horseman whose television counterpart plays a large role in Fox’s modern adaptation of Sleepy Hollow.

While Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) remains to be the gallant protagonist of both written and television works of art, the TV show does not take place in 1790, and there is far more to Ichabod Crane than what meets the eye. Fox brings “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” to a whole new level by tying in not only the main characters of the short story, but also using the Book of Revelation as a basis for the plot of the TV show.

Yes, Ichabod Crane is still a man of the eighteenth century, but after two hundred years of rest, he is resurrected and uses his 18th century knowledge to help keep the Headless Horseman (who so happens to be entitled as one of the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse—Death) at bay. As Ichabod adapts to the twenty-first century and realizes his role within the Apocalypse as one of the foretold Biblical witnesses (Reference Rev. 11:3), he has entitled his mission as to defeat the Headless Horseman once and for all.

tumblr_nc9laoqohY1tffyr9o4_500

Google Images

The other witness, Lieutenant Abbie Mills (Nichole Baharie), a cop on the Sleepy Hollow PD, had a traumatic experience as a young girl when she and her sister, Jenny Mills (Lyndie Greenwood) witnessed the demon, Moloch, rise from the earth. Since then, Moloch has realized Abbie’s part in the Apocalypse so he uses the people in her life to try and destroy her. Meanwhile, Jenny is locked up in a mental ward because no one would believe her when she claimed she saw a demon try to kill her. For the longest time, Abbie tries to forget what had happened in the woods and denied the event ever happening; this denial is what drifted the sisters apart. When Abbie witnesses the Headless Horseman chopping off Sheriff Corbin’s (Clancy Brown) head, her memories of Moloch resurface, and she has to accept her role in the Apocalypse in order to stop the madness once and for all.

With Lieutenant Abbie Mills by Ichabod’s side, they encounter demons, witchcraft and crazy supernatural creatures and have to find ways to defeat them with the secrets, hidden weapons and knowledge our forefathers such as General George Washington and Paul Revere have left behind.

cdc8f74b086c4210c2495c3394c5421a

Google Images

For example, Ichabod Crane informs Abbie that the Boston Tea Party was merely used as a diversion so that he could steal an important artifact as instructed by George Washington. According to Ichabod, Paul Revere did not warn American colonists about the red coats by shouting, “The British are coming! The British are coming!” Ichabod vividly points out to a museum worker that it would have been futile for Paul Revere to have warned the Americans about the British because at that time, during the Revolution, mostly all of the Americans were British by birth.

As dark as the television show can be, there is a lot of comedy built into the TV series to balance out the darker components. Ichabod’s one-liners, for instance, gives the show one of its best comedic features. Trying to adapt to the twenty-first century is hard for Ichabod Crane because he’s appalled by many modern practices (like the buying and selling of water as opposed to simply drinking it for free via tap) and stands out with his preferred 1790s clothing.

As an example for the show’s comedy, I have provided a collage of Sleepy Hollow’s best comedic moments in season one:

(Please ignore the horrible music; I did not make this video).

If you love history, supernatural themes, Biblical history, romance, humor and action, then Sleepy Hollow is a show you need to watch. You can buy the first season on iTunes and Amazon as well as see it on Hulu plus.

Sleepy Hollow, brought to you by Fox, is created by Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci. Orlando Jones, Katia Winter and Lindie Greenwood also star.

Season 1 Trailer:

 Sleepy Hollow airs Monday nights at 8pm on FOX.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Articles, Entertainment, Opinion, Television

[Iss. 5] || Emberlyisms #5

WRITTEN & ILLUSTRATED BY KIMBERLY BENNETT
Editor-in-Chief

I apologize for the rough drawings. I have been so caught up with midterms and assignments that I almost forgot about the Emberlyisms! Even though the drawing & design is sloppy, I hope you find it funny all the same!

Written & Illustrated by Kimberly Bennett

Written & Illustrated by Kimberly Bennett

Image | Posted on by

[Iss. 5] || Now Showing at the Hett

PROVIDED BY THE HETT
Promoted by the McKendree Review

Come to the Hett in November and support McKendree’s Music and Dance departments.

Provided by the Hett.

Provided by the Hett.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 5, Campus, Campus Advertisements, Campus Announcements, Campus Events

[Vol. 93, Iss. 4] || The McKendree Review Crew

Avatar image
Vol. 93, Iss. 4

Editors

Kimberly Bennett
Editor-in-Chief

Mindy Allen
Assistant Editor

Emily Lucia
Assistant Editor / Web Manager

Editing Team

Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Donna Bick*
Emily Lucia
Jenna Teetor*

In This Issue

Kaleigh Admire
Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Joseph Blasdel, Ph.D.
Elizabeth Crabtree
Humanities Division
Emily Lucia
McKendree University Athletics
Benjamin Richter
Jenna Teetor
Jessica Trout

* volunteer

The McKendree Review is a student-run organization of McKendree University. The mission of The McKendree Review is to give students the opportunity to learn the news process and publish articles pertaining to their opinions and ideas.

The staff does not agree with all statements and opinions,
which rightfully belong to their writers.

The McKendree Review Office can be found in
Eisenmayer 208 on the McKendree Campus, at
701 College Rd., Lebanon, IL, 62254.

Staff can be reached by email at mckreview@mckendree.edu.
Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 4, Review Crew