McKendree Humanities Fall 2014 Essay Contest Guidelines

PROMOTED BY THE MCKENDREE REVIEW

It’s time to show off your writing skills by participating in the annual Humanities Division Essay contest!

The official rules will be posted on Oct. 3, but in case anyone would like to get started on the contest, please read the following guidelines. As of right now, rules are subjected to change between now and Oct. 3 so be on the lookout for an email regarding the official rules.


This year you may choose from one of two prompts: The Villain You Love to Hate or Hate to Love! and What’s Alive in the Cemetery?.

Prompt Idea #1: The Villain You Love to Hate or Hate to Love!

Have you ever heard the saying “The Devil has all the best tunes?” Many times the devil, or villain, also has the best lines in movies and books. So, as villains continue to take center stage in entertainment, we have to ask ourselves, “If it is “good to be bad,” then who’s the baddest of them all and why?”

For your essay contest submission, identify and argue who you believe is the best fictional villain (someone you love to hate or hate to love) whether from book, film, t.v., musical, play, or game. Then, in a 4-5 page essay using at least one outside source, explain why and attempt to persuade us!

Don’t forget to include a Works Cited page!

  1. Prompt Idea #2: What’s Alive at the Cemetery?

St. Louis’ Bellefontaine cemetery has been described as “a majestic, 19th century park, with thousands of big trees spread out over more than 300 acres” (LaCapra, 2014). Nothing spooky about that! Typically, conversations about cemeteries revolve around the spooky and the supernatural — even the metaphorical. While the cemetery is often used as a metaphor for loss or the end of life, one visit to Bellefontaine cemetery, and a different image begins to surface. Cemeteries can be a place of refuge — where the living and the deceased may find peace and solace.

For your essay contest submission, answer the question: What’s really alive at the cemetery? Then, in a 4-5 page essay using at least one outside source, explain why and attempt to persuade us!

Don’t forget to include a Works Cited page!

All essay entries must be submitted to Stephanie Quinn smquinn@mckendree.edu by October 31, 2014, at 11:59pm Central Time!

Guidelines:

  • Only one entry per student.
  • All entries must be typed and submitted via email.

Awards:

Essays will be evaluated based on academic writing conventions BUT creativity will be rewarded as well.

First place award: $100 and publication in Montage and McKendree Review
Second place award: $50 and honorable mention in Montage and McKendree Review
Third place award: $25 and honorable mention in Montage and McKendree Review

 

Posted in Campus, Campus Advertisements, Campus Events | Leave a comment

Iss. 2 | The McKendree Review Crew

avatar-image3

Vol. 93, Iss. 2

Editors

Kimberly Bennett
Editor-in-Chief

Mindy Allen
Assistant Editor

Emily Lucia
Assistant Editor / Web Manager

Editing Team

Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Emily Lucia

In This Issue

Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Donna Bick
Emily Lucia
McKendree University Athletics

The McKendree Review is a student-run organization of McKendree University. The mission of The McKendree Review is to give students the opportunity to learn the news process and publish articles pertaining to their opinions and ideas.

The staff does not agree with all statements and opinions, which rightfully belong to their writers.

The McKendree Review Office can be found in Eisenmayer 208 on the McKendree Campus, at 701 College Rd., Lebanon, IL, 62254.

Staff can be reached by email at mckreview@mckendree.edu.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Review Crew

Leditors | A Letter from the Editors

avatar-image3

Welcome!

The McKendree Review is starting something new this year; for the first time in forever, we will be publishing twice a month instead of only once a month. There will be an online issue published around the fifteenth of each month and a print and online issue published at the end of the month. This is certainly a challenge considering it hasn’t been done before, but we are convinced we can make it work. But, we need your help in order to do so! Please keep submitting articles to the McKendree Review as much as possible. We will publish anything written by McKendree faculty, staff, students and alumni. The first deadline for the print edition is Wednesday, Sept. 17. If you plan on writing an article or two, please submit them by then.

If we will not have enough articles to create a printed issue, the editors will notify the campus otherwise.

Again, keep sending in articles. We are much obliged.

Have a great day!

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Letters from the Editors

Getting to Know You! Meet McKendree’s New Public Safety Officers

BY EMILY LUCIA
0827141253_resized

Left to Right: Lance Hunt & Brittney Newport Photo Credits: Emily Lucia

Just in time for the new semester, Public Safety added two new members to their ranks. Lance Hunt and Brittney Newport join the 17, now 19 member staff, and both are very excited to begin their new journey. When asked why they chose to work for McKendree, Hunt and Newport had similar responses, commenting on how the university was close to home and very beautiful.

“It definitely is a good college and you guys definitely have a good reputation out there and it looks like it’s a fun place to be a part of, whether you’re a student, faculty—just a fan of the sports teams,”  Newport said.

“It kind of makes you feel like a family too,” Hunt added.

Hunt, a retired firefighter, said he was interested in the idea of police work. Prior to being a firefighter, he said he had taken a few criminal justice classes at SWIC before getting a job with the fire department. When he retired, he decided to pick up the police career field again. “They say that most firefighters want to be policemen; well most policemen want to be firefighters,” he commented.

Newport was an MP in the United States Army. And now, after a year of civilian life, she is ready to jump back into the field; this time in Public Safety. “Public safety is going to be kind of a different pace for me, just because it’s more of the civilian world. So I’m excited to see what it has to offer.” Newport said.

When asked about their expectations when they arrived at McKendree, Hunt responded that he did not imagine the family-oriented atmosphere, and he found it was very cool to come into a college with such an atmosphere. Newport agreed and was surprised at how many years each of her new co-workers have been with McKendree. “They’ve been here for so many years and know everything and that’s how it sort of feels family-like, because you have people who have been here for a long time and they know a lot of fun things [about the campus].”

I asked them what they look forward to the most in their first year at McKendree, and Hunt stated that he is looking forward to meeting the students and faculty as well as getting to know them. Newport nodded in agreement; she added that she’s looking forward to McKendree sports as well the excitement around those events.

“We’re really excited about being here.” Newport restated.

On behalf of the McKendree Review and the student body, I welcome Officers Hunt and Newport to McKendree and wish them all the luck in their first year here!

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Campus, Features, Local/Campus News, News

Ask the Editors!

ANSWERS: BY THE EDITORS

Dear Editors,

I am a first-year student at McKendree University and already know what I want to pursue as a career. The problem, is, I only have a certain amount of money saved up to attend college for four years; however, my program requires a minimum of five years with all of the general education courses we have to take in order to graduate. I understand these classes may be essential in some areas, but I do not understand why I would have to take a mathematics course when my major is in the arts. It’s a bit ridiculous. What do you suggest I do?

Thanks,

McKendree Newbie


 

Dear McKendree Newbie,

Created by: Kimberly Bennett

Created by: Kimberly Bennett

As someone who has gone all over the place in regards to changing majors, I can assure you that these general education classes are required for a reason. They may not seem like they are important enough to utilize later in life, but it is important for students to be well-versed in the fundamentals such as algebra, English, history or science. Taking core classes will help students become more marketable in the real world. Yes, I do agree, that it may seem ridiculous at first—especially when your degree may or may not require a specific type of class. But, regardless of how students feel, these core classes are provided to enrich your mind and buff up your transcript.

Anyway, what I suggest for you to do is think about taking summer school at a community college close to your home. Although summer is months away, it would be a good idea to think about knocking down your core classes over the summer. When I first came to McKendree, I was going to go into accounting; after my first class, I had no idea what I was thinking so I changed my major. When I was in the education program, the amount of core classes was unbelievably high. Education students who think they are going to get their schooling done in 16 semesters will have to think twice. That being said, I decided to take three of my general education requirements at SWIC. Even though I have changed my major since then, taking summer classes benefitted me financially on so many levels. One, it was significantly cheaper. Forget thousands of dollars! SWIC only cost me about $700 because of the number of classes I was taking. Two, I will be graduating a semester early, allowing my loans to be paid down with my extra college fund money.

Trust me when I say this, take summer classes. It will benefit you in the future. Make sure you talk to your advisor and obtain the necessary paperwork in order for your summer classes to appear on your transcript, but you won’t have to worry about that until March of next year—depending on when your local community college starts opening up the campus for summer registration.

I hope this advice helps!

Sincerely,

Kimberly


 

Dear McKendree Newbie,

Created by: Kimberly Bennett

Created by: Kimberly Bennett

General education classes may seem like they are in the way of your degree, but they are essential in achieving your education. They may seem useless to no end, but you’ll get through them and find that a lot of them are actually pretty interesting. Honestly. These classes are set up to where you can find a way to work them into your future career. I don’t know how many times I found myself sitting in history or bio and realizing that what I was learning could be useful in a story I was working on or for a paper I had due in one of my classes. With each class, I realized that not only could I use the information in my writing, but also that I was learning different skills which could be useful in the field I am pursuing.

From taking psychology and sociology, I have learned how people work and think. I have also learned how I can use those aspects to convey pathos to my audience. I learned how to talk to people while delivering a message in my speech class. Through history, I learned how important it is to preserve our past and learn from the mistakes that our ancestors made. In biology, I learned the importance of nature and keeping our planet safe. English courses helped me become a better writer through reading greats like Faulkner and Whitman. All of these courses have taught me something, and they will help you too if you give them a chance.

As for the cost, there are plenty of opportunities like work study on campus; you just have to ask around. It certainly helps in terms of paying for school. Also, I suggest you go and talk to McKendree’s Financial Aid department in Old Main; they can help you set up other options that can aid you financially like applying for FAFSA, scholarships and more..

I wish you luck on your many endeavors here at McKendree.

Cheers,
Emily


 

Dear McKendree Newbie,

Created by: Kimberly Bennett

Created by: Kimberly Bennett

I understand your thoughts behind gen. ed. classes. However, you should make the most of them. For example, if you have to take an English class, but you hate English, choose the Gen. Ed. course that would most interest you. That bit of advice may seem obvious, but the fact is, many areas (like English, science and math) offer a variety of gen. ed. courses.

Honestly, you should look into finding a job and probably an off campus job, as long as you have the time. If you don’t have the time, you should get all of your priorities in line. A job is very important; a job will fund your college education and give you extra spending money so it is crucial to have one. An outside-campus job will also give you experience for your future career (learning to deal with customer service, coworkers, etc.).

Also, look into community colleges. Community colleges offer general education courses for a cheaper price. The more gen. eds. you get out of the way, the better. Sure, you are sacrificing your summer, but it is not that big of a price to pay when you can get your college degree done in 4 years instead of 5.

Good luck,

Mindy

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Advice, Campus, Features, Opinion

The Ban of a Common Staple: Plastic Bags

BY MINDY ALLEN
Google Images

Google Images

Think of all the places you shop. You probably frequently visit the local Wal-Mart, the local Dollar General or even the McKendree bookstore, where, most likely, your items are stuffed into the thin, plastic bags that you throw away when you get back to your room, save to use for your trashcan or hopefully, if you are environmentally conscious, you recycle. In California, though, according to the Wall Street Journal, the state legislature recently passed a bill that will ban the use of plastic bags if the governor, Jerry Brown, signs it. Obviously, a ban on plastic bags would improve the quality of the environment.

In the state of Illinois, Chicago approved a ban on plastic bags back in April of this year that will take place August 2015. Joseph Erbentraut of Huffington Post said that “fines between $300 and $500” would be posed if ever there is a violation, and that “retailers occupying stores that are more than 10,000 square foot will no longer be allowed to offer plastic bags. The ban will be extended to smaller chain stores and franchises in August 2016, while small independent or non-franchise stores and restaurants will not be affected by the legislation.”

Is California setting a precedent that all states will soon follow to ban plastic bags? In Illinois, the ban on plastic bans has already begun in the biggest city of the state. If the ban became nationwide, everyone, including students at McKendree University, would have to change their habits, making the change a new “first world problem.” Instead of expecting the grocer to bag your purchases, consumers would need to invest in durable grocery bags and remember to carry them to the store. There is a downside to this green ban, though, such as what will happen to the workers who make those plastic bags? But, is getting rid of a common, everyday object like the plastic bag not a small price to pay to protect the environment, reduce littering and save animals’ lives?

Check out the following links if you would like to learn more about the banning of plastic bags.

California Legislature Passes Ban on Disposable Plastic Bags

Huffington Post – Chicago Bans Plastic Bags

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Features, Local/Campus News, National News, News

Zinc Proves to Help Prevent Cold and Flu

BY DONNA BICK
Google Images

Google Images

It will not be long before cold season starts making its way to campus—and that nasty bug spreads about McKendree University like wildfire.

Did you know that cold and flu season typically occurs between the months of October and May? One of the main reasons why we get sick during this time is because we stay indoors more than we go outside. All it takes is for one person to catch a cold, and then BAM! That sucker infects almost everyone on the campus.

In case you have not seen The Dr. Oz Show, there is an episode where Dr. Oz talks about combating colds. I personally have benefitted from his advice. He lists over-the-counter medicines on his website, but my personal favorite is anything with zinc. Anytime I feel like I am getting a cold, I take a Zinc pill to combat that nasty virus.

Here’s a list of his top selections with zinc.

  1. Cold-Eeze Homeopathic Cold Remedy
  2. Zand Lemon Zinc Herbal Lozenge
  3. Vitamin World Chelated Zinc 50 mg

I can honestly say I have dodged many colds due to Dr. Oz’s advice.

Hopefully this information will help you as well.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Advice, Articles, Campus, Features

McKendree Women’s Tennis Improves to 2-0 with 6-3 Win over Webster

BY MCKENDREE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

(BELLEVILLE, Ill., Sept. 14)

Google Images

Google Images

The McKendree University women’s tennis team won its second match of the weekend on Sunday with a 6-3 win over Webster University.

The Bearcats improved to 2-0 and will host Tiffin University on Sept. 24 at 10:30 a.m., in Belleville, Ill., at Kings Point Sports Club.

Match-By-Match Results
McKendree University 6, Webster University 3
Sept. 14, 2014 – Belleville, Ill., Belleville East High School

Singles

  1. Marissa Lewis (WEBSTER) def. Kelcie Comley (Belleville, Ill./Belleville West) (MCK) 7-5, 7-6
  2. Monica Behrle (WEBSTER) def. Anna Mernick (Swansea, Ill./Belleville West) (MCK) 6-3, 6-3
  3. Kaylen Kress (WEBSTER) def. Sara Janulavich (Edwardsville, Ill./Edwardsville) (MCK) 2-6, 7-6, 10-5
  4. Tori Lindsay (Shiloh, Ill./O’Fallon Township) (MCK) def. Chelsea Foster (WEBSTER) 6-0, 6-2
  5. Lauren Putbrese (Xenia, Ill./Flora) (MCK) def. Jesse Stephens-Willis (WEBSTER) 6-3, 6-2
  6. Jessica Gaither (Flora, Ill./Flora) (MCK) def. Stephanie Lass (WEBSTER) 6-0, 6-1

Doubles

  1. Sammy Siegel (Kemah, Texas/Clear Creek)/Janelle Fung (Whitby, Ontario, Canada/Anderson C.V.I) (MCK) def. Marissa Lewis/Kaylen Kress (WEBSTER) 8-2
  2. Maggie Ruane (Mokena, Ill./Providence Catholic)/Kelly Ruane (Mokena, Ill./Providence Catholic) (MCK) def. Monica Behrle/Isabella Espinoza (WEBSTER) 8-0
  3. Alex Kauble (Olney, Ill./East Richland)/Paige Kloth (East Troy, Wis./East Troy) (MCK) def. Jesse Steph.-Willis/Chelsea Foster (WEBSTER) 8-2
Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Local/Campus News, News, Sports

McKendree Men’s Tennis Defeats Brescia 8-1 for First Win of the Season

BY MCKENDREE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

(BELLEVILLE, Ill., Sept. 14)

Google Images

Google Images

The McKendree University men’s tennis team earned its first victory of the season on Sunday with a 8-1 win over Brescia University.

The Bearcats improved to 1-1 overall and will head to the ITA Regional held in Indianapolis, Ind., on Sept. 19-21.

 

 

Match-By-Match Results
McKendree University 8, Brescia University 1
Sept. 14, Belleville, Ill., Belleville East High School

Singles
1. Maximilian Aviles (San Bernadino, Calif./Citrus Valley) (MCK) def. Tom Roidl (BRESCIA) 6-1, 6-1
2. Brad Dunn (BRESCIA) def. Blake Kebblewhite (Elanora, Queensland, Australia/Palm Beach Currumbin ) (MCK) 6-7, 6-3, 10-7
3. Arapeta Collier-Waiomio (Gold Coast, Australia/Coombabah High School) (MCK) def. Joshua Ackermann (BRESCIA) 6-2, 6-1
4. Alex Richards (St. Austell, Cornwall, England) (MCK) def. Turilo Duck (BRESCIA) 2-6, 6-2, 10-7
5. Maico Egbers (Breda, Netherlands/Graaf Engelbrecht School) (MCK) def. Brian Wray (BRESCIA) 6-0, 6-0
6. Dylan Faulkenberg (Troy, Ill./Triad) (MCK) def. Seth Ferguson (BRESCIA) 6-0, 6-0

Doubles
1. Maximilian Ilic (Offenbach, Germany/Herzog-Christoph-Gymnasium)/Aleix Alvarez (Barcelona, Spain/Institut Obert de Catalunya) (MCK) def. Tom Roidl/Brad Dunn (BRESCIA) 8-6
2. Blake Kebblewhite (Elanora, Queensland, Australia/Palm Beach Currumbin )/Ben Muller (Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand/Whangarei) (MCK) def. Joshua Ackermann/Turilo Duck (BRESCIA) 8-1
3. Neil Berkel (Troy, Ill./Triad)/Logan Ware (Glen Carbon, Ill./Edwardsville) (MCK) def. Brian Wray/Seth Ferguson (BRESCIA) 8-0

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Local/Campus News, News, Sports

Two Write-Ups Written on McKendree University’s Bass Fishing Team

BY MCKENDREE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

McKendree University Bass Fishing Leads After Day One at FLW Central Invitational

(GILBERTSVILLE, Ky., Sept. 13)

The duo of seniors Dustin Pendegraft (Summerfield, Ill./Lebanon) and Phillip Germagliotti (Highland, Ill./Highland) weighed-in a five-fish limit of 15 pounds-13 ounces and ended day one in the lead by just under one pound at the FLW Central Invitational on Saturday on Kentucky Lake.

The McKendree anglers and the other top 14 teams from day one advance to the final day where the top 10 finishers will qualify for the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship held on Lake Keowee in Seneca, S.C. Only 17 of the 45 boats competing on Saturday weighed in a five-fish limit, while six boats weighed in no fish.

Sophomore Brian McClanahan (Elkville, Ill./Elverado) also competed and finished in 23rd place overall with three fish weighing in at eight pounds.


McKendree University Bass Fishing Qualifies For FLW College Fishing National Championship

(GILBERTSVILLE, Ky., Sept. 14)

The McKendree University bass fishing duo of seniors Phillip Germagliotti (Highland, Ill./Highland) and Dustin Pendegraft (Summerfield, Ill./Lebanon) finished in third place on Sunday at the FLW Central Conference Invitational to qualify for the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship.

Germagliotti and Pendegraft move on to compete at the 2015 FLW College Fishing National Championship held on Lake Murray outside of Columbia, South Carolina on April 16-18, 2015. It will be McKendree’s first appearance in the national championship event in only the second year as a program.

McKendree University Athletics

McKendree University Athletics

McKendree was in the lead heading into Sunday, and weighed in four fish at 10 pounds, nine ounces for a two-day total of 25 pounds, six ounces to finish in third place overall in the invitational held on Kentucky Lake. McKendree finished ahead of local Kentucky schools Murray State University, University of Kentucky, Eastern Kentucky University, Western Kentucky University and Georgetown College, along with Kansas State University, University of Nebraska, University of Missouri and defending national champion University of Minnesota.

“We’re thrilled with our finish,” said head coach Jon Rinderer. “To come down here and do so well on the home lake for a lot of these schools is just awesome. We’re only in our second year as a program and we’re headed to the national championship, so I couldn’t be more proud.”

A change in the weather from cool and breezy on Saturday to clear and sunny on Sunday gave the majority of the tournament field fits with only two of the top 15 teams catching a five-fish limit on the final day.

“The weather we practiced in this week held up on Saturday helped us develop a great pattern to fish on day one,” said Rinderer. “The weather on Sunday completely changed and it caused a lot of teams to struggle. Phillip and Dustin took a chance late in the day and changed locations and baits and they ended up catching all four of their fish in the final two hours.”

The Bearcats will host their fall invitational tournament on Sept. 27 in Carlyle, Ill., on Carlyle Lake. Take-off and weigh-in’s will be held at the Allen Branch Boat Ramp.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Local/Campus News, News, Sports

Three Write-Ups Written on McKendree University’s Women’s Soccer Team

BY MCKENDREE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS

Crane, Reiniger Lead McKendree Women’s Soccer in 7-0 Rout over Hannibal-LaGrange

(LEBANON, Ill., Sept. 6)

McKendree University Athletics

McKendree University Athletics

Senior forward Natalie Crane (Granite City, Ill./Granite City) and sophomore midfielder Alyssa Reiniger (Maryville, Ill./Collinsville) each had two goals for the McKendree University women’s soccer team in a 7-0 win over Hannibal-LaGrange University in the home opener on Saturday.

The Bearcats improve to 1-1 on the season and will host Missouri Valley College on Tuesday, Sept. 9 for the final non-conference game of the season at 7 p.m.

Crane opened the game with back-to-back goals to push McKendree out to a quick lead. Her first came off an assist by junior midfielder Cassie Kaiping (Waterloo, Ill./Waterloo) in the sixth minute, and she found the back of the net again with an unassisted score in the 27th minute. Reiniger scored her first goal of the season in the 33rd minute on an assist from junior midfielder Alyssa Patterson (Troy, Ill./Triad) and struck again in the 36th minute off a pass from Danielle Hareb (Flatbush, New Zealand/Mount Albert) to extend the lead to 4-0.

Danielle Hareb

Danielle Hareb

Sophomore midfielder Danielle Hareb (Flatbush, New Zealand/Mount Albert) scored her first collegiate goal in the 42nd minute off Kaiping’s second assist of the game, and freshman midfielder Rachel Kaltwasser (Belleville, Ill./Althoff Catholic) added her first collegiate goal just before the half off an assist from Reiniger to give the Bearcats a 6-0 lead at the break.

Freshman midfielder Abby Stutz (Godfrey, Ill./Alton) scored the last goal of the game off an assist from sophomore Safiya Atkinson (Kingston, St. Andrew, Jamica/Wolmer’s Trust High School for Girls) in the 61st minute to put McKendree in front with a 7-0 lead. Stutz’s goal and Atkinson’s assist were both firsts for their collegiate careers for the Bearcats.

Junior goalkeeper Taylor Zerbe (St. Louis, Mo./Trinity Catholic) played the first half in goal and grabbed one save, while sophomore goalkeeper Anna Sassman (Castle Rock, Colo./Douglas County) played the second half and had two saves to combine for the team shutout.


Women’s Soccer Drops Conference Opener at Maryville 3-0

(ST. LOUIS, Mo., Sept. 12)

The McKendree University women’s soccer team lost its conference opener at Maryville University on Friday 3-0.

The Bearcats fall to 1-3 overall and 0-1 in the Great Lakes Valley Conference with the loss and will travel to St. Louis, Mo., on Sunday to face University of Missouri-St. Louis at noon.

McKendree was unable to get into a rhythm offensively and was unable to overcome a 3-0 first half deficit. Sophomore goalkeeper Anna Sassman (Castle Rock, Colo./Douglas County) fell to 0-2 overall on the season and had six saves in the loss.


McKendree University Women’s Soccer Edged 1-0 at Missouri-St. Louis

(St. LOUIS, Mo., Sept.14)

The McKendree University women’s soccer team dropped a close Great Lakes Valley Conference match on Sunday at University of Missouri-St. Louis 1-0.

The Bearcats fall to 1-4 overall and 0-2 in the GLVC and will host Truman State University on Friday, Sept. 19 at 5 p.m.

McKendree trailed 1-0 after the first half, and held an 8-7 shot advantage in the second half, but was unable to find the back of the net to tie the game. The Bearcats had an opportunity to tie the game in the 72nd minute, but junior midfielder Cassie Kaiping (Waterloo, Ill./Waterloo)’s shot went off the crossbar.

Sophomore goalkeeper Anna Sassman (Castle Rock, Colo./Douglas County) fell to 0-4 overall in goal and had five saves in the loss.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Local/Campus News, News, Sports

Three Write-Ups Written on McKendree University’s Men’s Soccer Team

BY MCKENDREE UNIVERSITY ATHLETICS
Google Images

Google Images

Cerna’s Hat Trick Not Enough In 5-4 McKendree Men’s Soccer OT Loss to Oakland City

(LEBANON, Ill., Sept. 7)

Senior forward C.J. Cerna (Collinsville, Ill./Collinsville) recorded his first collegiate hat trick with three goals on Sunday, but a late rally by visiting Oakland City University proved to be too much in a 5-4 overtime loss to spoil the McKendree’s men’s soccer home opener.

The Bearcats fall to 0-1-1 overall and begin Great Lakes Valley Conference play on Friday, Sept. 12 at Maryville University at 2:30 p.m.

Zino Efenedo

Zino Efenedo

Cerna put McKendree in front, 1-0, in the 20th minute after he scored off the first collegiate assist from freshman midfielder Zino Efenedo (St. Kitts and Nevis/NEPA Secondary School). The Mighty Oaks went on to tie the game in the 22nd minute, 1-1.

Cerna struck again in the 27th minute off a free kick from senior defender Connor Cassidy (Glasgow, Scotland/St. Andrews) for his second goal of the game to give the Bearcats a 2-1 lead at the half.

He completed the hat trick with his third goal of the game, matching his season total from the 2013 season, in the 46th minute off an assist by senior midfielder Kavel Smith (Kingston, Jamaica/St. George’s College) and freshman forward Andrew Ducharme (Edwardsville, Ill./Triad High School) scored his first collegiate goal in the 77th minute off an assist by senior defender Joe Hilderbrand (St. Louis, Mo./Vianney) to extend the lead to 4-1.

Oakland City scored three goals in the final 12 minutes of regulation to force overtime and scored the game-winning goal in the 92nd minute to win the game 5-4.

Junior goalkeeper Matt Derrington (St. Louis, Mo./Trinity Catholic) falls to 0-1 on the season with the loss and had three saves.


Kiddell’s Second-Half Goal Leads Men’s Soccer Past Maryville 1-0

 (ST. LOUIS, Mo., Sept. 12)

A goal by sophomore defender Callum Kiddell (Auckland, New Zealand/Mount Albert Grammar School) in the 55th minute was all the McKendree University men’s soccer team needed on Friday to earn a 1-0 win at Maryville University in the Great Lakes Valley Conference opener.

The Bearcats improve to 1-1-1 overall and 1-0 in the GLVC, and will travel to St. Louis, Mo., again on Sunday, to face University of Missouri-St. Louis at 2:30 p.m.

Maryville took twice as many shots as McKendree in the match, 12-6, but a strong performance by junior goalkeeper Scott Armistead (Auckland, New Zealand/Saint Peter’s College) in the net helped keep the Saints off the board. The Bearcats broke open the scoreless game on a long pass from senior defender Connor Cassidy (Glasgow, Scotland/St. Andrews) that found its way to the foot of Kiddell for the score. The goal and the assist were the first of the season for both players.

Armistead improved to 1-0-1 and earned the shutout while playing all 90 minutes in goal.


McKendree University Men’s Soccer Falls at Missouri-St. Louis 1-0

(St. LOUIS, Mo., Sept. 14)

 The McKendree University men’s soccer team dropped a close 1-0 Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) soccer match at University of Missouri-St. Louis on Sunday.

The Bearcats fall to 1-2-1 overall and 1-1 in the GLVC and will host Truman State University on Friday, Sept. 19 at 7:30 p.m.

The McKendree offense had a sense of urgency in the second half while trailing 1-0, and held an 8-2 shot advantage over the hosts in the final half. The Bearcats had three shots in the final five minutes but were unable to find the back of the net to force an overtime.

Junior goalkeeper Scott Armistead (Auckland, New Zealand/Saint Peter’s College) fell to 1-1-1 overall and had one save in the loss.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Articles, Campus, Entertainment, Features, Local/Campus News, News, Sports

[NEW] | “Emberlyisms” || Comic #1

WRITTEN & ILLUSTRATED BY KIMBERLY BENNETT

This comic was created for three reasons:

  • We decided the Review could use another form of variety (such as comics).
  • “Emberlyisms” was established to publish variant forms of Emily Lucia and Kimberly Bennett’s whacky conversations they have on a daily basis.
  • Fox’s Sleepy Hollow returns on Sept. 22. Considering both Emily & Kimberly love Sleepy Hollow with a passion, they could not resist paying tribute to the TV show.

Emberlyisms NO. 1

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Comics, Entertainment, Humor

[NEW] | Word Search

We are going to start providing Word Searches as well. The same rule applies; if you think you can find all of the words, email us your solutions by Sept. 20, and your photo will be featured in our next issue.

The solutions will be published in our next issue.

Source: puzzles.ca

Source: puzzles.ca

 

Source: puzzles.ca

Source: puzzles.ca

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Entertainment, Word Searches

[Sudoku] | You Think You Can Win?

The following Sudoku is the solution for the previous Sudoku in the last issue. 

Sudoku SOLVED [courtesy of puzzles.ca]

Source: puzzles.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

Below is the new Sudoku for this issue: 

sudoku UNSOLVED

Source: puzzles.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you think you can fill the new one out and win, send it to the McKendree Review (mckreview@mckendree.edu) by Sept. 20, and we will feature your picture in our next issue!

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Entertainment, McKendree Review Issues, Sudoku

[Poll] | Which are your favorite TV stations?

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 2, Entertainment, Opinion, Polls

Iss. 1 | The “McKendree Review” Crew

avatar-image3

Vol. 93, Iss. 1

Editors

Kimberly Bennett
Editor-in-Chief

Mindy Allen
Assistant Editor

Emily Lucia
Assistant Editor / Web Manager

Editing Team

Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Emily Lucia

In This Issue

Kaleigh Admire
Mindy Allen
Kimberly Bennett
Logan Ghast
Emily Lucia
McKendree University Athletics
Prof. Amy MacLennan
Pamela Manning, Ph.D.

The McKendree Review is a student-run organization of McKendree University. The mission of The McKendree Review is to give students the opportunity to learn the news process and publish articles pertaining to their opinions and ideas.

The staff does not agree with all statements and opinions, which rightfully belong to their writers.

The McKendree Review Office can be found in Eisenmayer 208 on the McKendree Campus, at 701 College Rd., Lebanon, IL, 62254.

Staff can be reached by email at mckreview@mckendree.edu.

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 1, McKendree Review Issues, NEW McK Review Issues, Review Crew

“Leditors” ~ A Letter from the Editors

avatar-image3

Welcome back everyone!

The McKendree Review is excited to return for a full semester of action. As you probably have guessed, we are still using the WordPress site as our main domain so some of the functions may seem familiar to you. If you are not familiar with WordPress, I implore you to explore our website. If you are still having questions regarding the domain’s layout, please email mckreview@mckendree.edu for assistance.

What’s new?

The Review is going to start a monthly project called: Department 101. Each issue will showcase a different department as a way to gear students towards learning about departments that may be different from their own. This project will also serve a purpose for prospective students. Granted, not all of McKendree’s departments can be showcased within ten months, but if Department 101 is successful, then we hope it will become a regular column.

We are also wanting to start a column called, “‘Leditor’ Advice,” to replace the “Girl Talk” and “Guy Speak” columns. If you have a question regarding anything campus-related and would like to hear the McKendree Review’s opinion, feel free to email us and ask.

Be sure to check out the Sudoku! There will be a surprise waiting for you.

Thank you everyone who submitted articles and creative writing pieces for the first issue. I know it can be hard to nudge yourself to write something during the summer, so again, thank you.

Don’t forget to stop by our booth at the Involvement Fair on Sept. 4 from 11 AM – 2 PM. We will have a sign-up sheet for anybody who is interested in the following criteria:

  • Writing
  • Editing
  • Photography
  • Layout (for printed issues, we use InDesign)
  • Website management (www.mckreview.com)
  • All of the Above

We look forward to hear from fellow McKendreans throughout the year and hope that everyone has a great academic school semester!

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 1, Letters from the Editors, McKendree Review Issues, NEW McK Review Issues

Why You Should Join the “McKendree Review”

BY MINDY ALLEN & KIMBERLY BENNETT

cropped-town-gown-picture.jpgHave you ever considered writing articles for a newspaper or even joining the staff? Do you like writing in general? Do you have a lot to say but have no idea how to share your opinions?

When an article gets written for the Review, it goes through the process of editing and then sometimes gets sent back to the author for revision. Whether you are on the editing side of the process or on the receiving side, it can improve your writing. Proficient writing is an underrated skill for any major from education to business. For example, what if you were not hired for your dream job because your writing did not meet the employer’s standards?

The benefits from joining the McKendree Review are endless:

  • Editing other people’s writing
  • Communication
  • Collaboration
  • Learning about and designing newspaper layouts
  • Expanding computer skills
  • An experience to include in your résumé.
  • Provides Leadership opportunities
  • Offers Conferencing opportunities

If you are interested, send the Review an email (mckreview@mckendree.edu) or find us at the Involvement Fair on Sept. 4 from 11 AM to 2 PM.

You do not have to be an English major / minor or a Journalism minor in order to join the Review.

If you are interested, feel free to come to our first meeting on Sept. 11 in Clark Lounge, 3:00 PM!

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 1, Articles, Campus, Campus Advertisements, Campus Events, Campus Organization, Features, McKendree Review Issues, NEW McK Review Issues, Opinion

Pamela Manning, Ph.D. Sparks Interest of Medical Doctors

BY PAMELA MANNING, Ph.D.

For Dr. Manning's piecePamela Manning, McKendree’s Assistant Professor of Education, was invited to speak at the National Medical Association Conference in Honolulu, Hawaii on Aug. 3, 2014.  In response to her book, My Child Would Never Do That!, which highlights her philosophy on several school experiences, the National Medical Association asked her to speak for the Grace James, M.D. Memorial Lecture.  Dr. James was a pediatrician who believed in helping youth both medically and educationally.

Dr. Manning has 39 years of experience in education across the United States and abroad. She has been a teacher, speech pathologist, principal and superintendent.  She spoke of her first medical emergency as a first year teacher.  A high school student in Hurtsboro, Alabama had a seizure in mid-air on an outdoor basketball court as he was jumping to make a basket.  He jerked while he was still in the air and came down head first on a concrete court.  There was no nurse on site, and Dr. Manning had received no professional medical training.  She wondered if her actions were correct as the ambulance carried him away.  Fortunately, the student returned to school two weeks later.   Dr. Throughout Manning’s career as a teacher, she has encountered many students with several different kinds of medical issues such as sickle cell anemia, tuberculosis, diabetes, HIV, mental and emotional issues, infections as well as urgencies which required the use of EpiPens and defibrillators.

She believes pediatricians and public school administrators can have a positive impact on today’s youth.  Nurses and physicians should offer professional development on the university level to prepare new teachers for certain medical emergencies. Together, we can save our youth through education, medical training and support by closing gaps between the medical and educational fields while taking into consideration the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act.

Collaboration can only make us that more powerful in making a difference!

Learning / Performance Objectives for Pediatricians:

  • Identify medical needs in their service community
  • Identify points of contact for Physicians
  • Identify health gaps within the local community
  • Identify activities and possible solutions for closing gaps from a provided list
Google Images

Google Images

My Child Would Never Do That!: A Guide For Student Success
Pam Manning, Ph.D.

ISBN
974-1-4602-1794-8 (Hardback)
974-1-4602-1792-4 (Paperback)
974-1-4602-1793-1 (e-book)

 

 

Posted in 2014-15: Vol. 93, Iss. 1, Articles, Campus, Features, Local/Campus News, McKendree Review Issues, NEW McK Review Issues, News